Multi card SLi???

For those who need help with the worst kind of problems.

Moderator: Moderating Team

Post Reply
User avatar
cpt nick
Pilot
Posts: 568
Joined: 25 May 2008, 22:16
Location: Barnsley,England
Contact:

Multi card SLi???

Post by cpt nick » 17 Aug 2009, 12:30

Hi, So im getting an SLi Motherboard, but I heard about Multi-card Sli where you can SLi two card which have different GPUs, so does this mean I could SLI the GTS250 im getting with the 8500GT I already have????

and how exacly to config it??

Thankyou! :)
Image
Image
^My Simairline.net statistics^
high flyin' Banner by Nick Anderson
www.youtube.com/user/speedbird125
Find me on Facebook and Bebo.

flybywire22
Pilot
Posts: 221
Joined: 22 Aug 2008, 02:06
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Contact:

Re: Multi card SLi???

Post by flybywire22 » 17 Aug 2009, 16:14

I always thought you had to have two of the same cards, but I may be wrong.
Image

Randy
Pilot
Posts: 62
Joined: 04 Aug 2009, 14:08
Location: Iowa

Re: Multi card SLi???

Post by Randy » 17 Aug 2009, 17:10

Quite sure the GPU's must be the same. I have SLI dual cards but they are same brand and GPU's. The cross connectors links can vary.

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Re: Multi card SLi???

Post by sanins192 » 19 Aug 2009, 21:09

There will be no real advantage using the 8500. It will just be using up power and providing little gain in graphics performance. What monitor are you using? SLiing only really benefits if you are gaming in 1920x1200 or higher.
Image

Post Reply