Page 1 of 1

How to use the APU in Jets B737-800

Posted: 13 Mar 2009, 09:42
by ulsterjohn
Hi,

Please could anyone advise me the correct proceedure in using the APU in Jets?

Suppose you have a flight plan activated, you want to prepare your pre flight checks etc, but in order to have "realism" the APU should have engine sound with the main engines off.

Also after landing and parking, how do you activate the APU ?
I am using flightsim x.

Thank you in advance.

John Hanna

Re: How to use the APU in Jets B737-800

Posted: 13 Mar 2009, 10:33
by FJ flyer
ulsterjohn wrote:Hi,

Please could anyone advise me the correct proceedure in using the APU in Jets?

Suppose you have a flight plan activated, you want to prepare your pre flight checks etc, but in order to have "realism" the APU should have engine sound with the main engines off.

Also after landing and parking, how do you activate the APU ?
I am using flightsim x.

Thank you in advance.

John Hanna
Yes, whenever the engines are off you should really have the APU on otherwise all power on the aircraft will be switched off.

Next time post in the "Training" forum of the Message Boards, that's is where this topic will best fit.

:winking:

Re: How to use the APU in Jets B737-800

Posted: 13 Mar 2009, 13:04
by Aaron Robinson
FJ flyer wrote:Yes, whenever the engines are off you should really have the APU on otherwise all power on the aircraft will be switched off.

Next time post in the "Training" forum of the Message Boards, that's is where this topic will best fit.

:winking:
No no no! From a fuel conservation standpoint, you should have the APU on only when necessary because of a lack of ground power or the need for passenger comfort!

Sorry, that's what I've been saying at work for the last year and will continue to say.

Re: How to use the APU in Jets B737-800

Posted: 13 Mar 2009, 20:47
by FJ flyer
Aaron Robinson wrote:
FJ flyer wrote:Yes, whenever the engines are off you should really have the APU on otherwise all power on the aircraft will be switched off.

Next time post in the "Training" forum of the Message Boards, that's is where this topic will best fit.

:winking:
No no no! From a fuel conservation standpoint, you should have the APU on only when necessary because of a lack of ground power or the need for passenger comfort!

Sorry, that's what I've been saying at work for the last year and will continue to say.
That is correct, but does Flight Simulator simulate external power (Depends on which aircraft he's using -Payware or Freeware)?

Re: How to use the APU in Jets B737-800

Posted: 14 Mar 2009, 03:29
by flybywire22
FJ flyer wrote:
Aaron Robinson wrote:
FJ flyer wrote:Yes, whenever the engines are off you should really have the APU on otherwise all power on the aircraft will be switched off.

Next time post in the "Training" forum of the Message Boards, that's is where this topic will best fit.

:winking:
No no no! From a fuel conservation standpoint, you should have the APU on only when necessary because of a lack of ground power or the need for passenger comfort!

Sorry, that's what I've been saying at work for the last year and will continue to say.
That is correct, but does Flight Simulator simulate external power (Depends on which aircraft he's using -Payware or Freeware)?
I believe, External Power is always available in Flight Simulator.

Re: How to use the APU in Jets B737-800

Posted: 14 Mar 2009, 06:37
by FJ flyer
flybywire22 wrote:I believe, External Power is always available in Flight Simulator.
Can you turn it off?

Re: How to use the APU in Jets B737-800

Posted: 14 Mar 2009, 14:46
by RatherBFlyin
If external power is available in FS by default, I have yet to figure out how to turn it on.

Re: How to use the APU in Jets B737-800

Posted: 14 Mar 2009, 15:03
by Aaron Robinson
Let's keep this topic to the technical side of FS, not real life. Let the other topic handle that. Thanks.

Re: How to use the APU in Jets B737-800

Posted: 14 Mar 2009, 16:13
by flybywire22
FJ flyer wrote:
flybywire22 wrote:I believe, External Power is always available in Flight Simulator.
Can you turn it off?
I just flew a flight with the PMDG 737 and ground power was available right up until the point I released the brakes and started pushback so I suppose that must have something to do with it.

Re: How to use the APU in Jets B737-800

Posted: 14 Mar 2009, 17:03
by Ali Abou-Zeid
In payware aircraft, the only way to simulate ground power, is when the parking brakes are on.

Try going to the runway, and put the parking brakes on, you'll find that ground power is available. Not a bad idea actually.