FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Problems getting an aircraft to work? We can help.

Moderator: Moderating Team

Post Reply
RatherBFlyin
Moderator
Posts: 3086
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 06:52
Location: Apex, NC
Contact:

FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Post by RatherBFlyin » 14 Sep 2009, 01:25

I have noticed on some FS9 aircraft that I have converted to use in FSX, that the comsat antenna bulge on top of the fuselage is missing, and you can actually see through the fuselage at that point if you are looking down on the aircraft. It doesn't do it on all aircraft, just some of them. I was wondering if anyone knows of a relatively simple fix to get that corrected. I just need to find a way to make those antennae bulges visible.

FJ flyer
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2415
Joined: 05 Feb 2007, 23:44
Location: Christchurch New Zealand

Re: FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Post by FJ flyer » 14 Sep 2009, 05:10

Which (specific) aircraft has this problem?
Image
Enigma Simulations | Texture Artist and Aircraft Designer
Click my banner to see my paints via Avsim.

RatherBFlyin
Moderator
Posts: 3086
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 06:52
Location: Apex, NC
Contact:

Re: FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Post by RatherBFlyin » 14 Sep 2009, 05:13

I was just flying a Project Airbus A319 in China Southern colors earlier today and finally got irritated enough with the "hole" in the top of the fuselage to ask about it. lol It's not the only one that it has happened with, just the one I was most recently flying.

FJ flyer
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2415
Joined: 05 Feb 2007, 23:44
Location: Christchurch New Zealand

Re: FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Post by FJ flyer » 14 Sep 2009, 05:21

Hmm, Project Airbus used to have a topic about this on their forums. But after they kicked the bucket they wiped the forums along with that topic.

Have you tried using the FSX models?
http://www.pairbus.com/files/index.php?dir=models/fsx/
Image
Enigma Simulations | Texture Artist and Aircraft Designer
Click my banner to see my paints via Avsim.

User avatar
Garyck
Pilot
Posts: 141
Joined: 04 Jul 2009, 20:32
Location: Liverpool, UK
Contact:

Re: FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Post by Garyck » 14 Sep 2009, 08:25

I had the same issue with an A318CJ, I decided to download it when we were discussing the BAW A318CJ, just to see how it handled in and out of LCY, I too got fed up of the hole on top of the fusalage. This was a project airbus aircraft.

Gary
Image
Image

RatherBFlyin
Moderator
Posts: 3086
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 06:52
Location: Apex, NC
Contact:

Re: FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Post by RatherBFlyin » 14 Sep 2009, 13:38

Will the FS9 textures fit on the FSX model?

FJ flyer
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2415
Joined: 05 Feb 2007, 23:44
Location: Christchurch New Zealand

Re: FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Post by FJ flyer » 14 Sep 2009, 20:33

RatherBFlyin wrote:Will the FS9 textures fit on the FSX model?
Yes, I believe it's the exact same model but compatible with FSX.
Image
Enigma Simulations | Texture Artist and Aircraft Designer
Click my banner to see my paints via Avsim.

RatherBFlyin
Moderator
Posts: 3086
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 06:52
Location: Apex, NC
Contact:

Re: FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Post by RatherBFlyin » 15 Sep 2009, 13:51

Replacing the model worked, by removing the antenna bulge entirely. However, after looking more closely at pics of the aircraft in question, I can see that it wasn't even supposed to have one. Now I just need to find models for the other non-PA aircraft that have the same problem.

User avatar
Carlo
Pilot
Posts: 1089
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 15:31
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Post by Carlo » 15 Sep 2009, 15:16

I have the same problem with POSky's GE90 777-200ER. If you look closely at this picture, you'll see:

http://simairline.net/screenshots/4785.jpg

(Above the 'I' of British Airways)

NWADC9
Pilot
Posts: 5845
Joined: 11 Mar 2005, 23:27
Location: Pittsburgh

Re: FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Post by NWADC9 » 16 Sep 2009, 23:29

Carlo wrote:I have the same problem with POSky's GE90 777-200ER. If you look closely at this picture, you'll see:

http://simairline.net/screenshots/4785.jpg

(Above the 'I' of British Airways)
That's not the same problem. It's FSX and its issues with alpha channels. It'll cover up clouds and autogen, which is why I don't use the heat haze textures with the PA A32X.
Image

RatherBFlyin
Moderator
Posts: 3086
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 06:52
Location: Apex, NC
Contact:

Re: FSX aircraft missing comsat antennae

Post by RatherBFlyin » 17 Sep 2009, 04:36

Actually, that is the same problem, and how I knew it was the bulge over the comsat antenna on top of the fuselage. When looking down from above, you can see through the aircraft at the ground below, but if looking from the side as that shot is, it will let you see "through" any clouds to the sky/ground beyond them.

Post Reply