Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Problems getting an aircraft to work? We can help.

Moderator: Moderating Team

Post Reply
Jacob Mobley
Pilot
Posts: 150
Joined: 11 May 2009, 00:07

Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by Jacob Mobley » 20 Jul 2009, 23:42

Hey,


I though I saw somebody on here that can convert FS2004 aircraft into FSX aircraft. If there is anybody, can you please show me how to? I would like to convert an entire fleet of Delta, Northwest and Continental POSKY aircraft so that they can work on FSX :D.
Image
Professional Banner Courtesy Of Fraser Jeffery
Flying Is Life.

User avatar
Dennis
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2861
Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 16:40
Location: Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by Dennis » 21 Jul 2009, 00:04

There's more to SimAirline.net than just the boards and the airlines. There is also a Downloads page where I just happened to stumble upon this tutorial. :laugh:

And let's not forget that this is for the Support section so I've moved it for you.
Image
^^Courtesy of Fraser Jeffery. To SimAirline.net. It's been a blast!^^
*Click on the banner for the latest on Viewpoint, the official SimAirline.net blog*

Jacob Mobley
Pilot
Posts: 150
Joined: 11 May 2009, 00:07

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by Jacob Mobley » 21 Jul 2009, 00:33

Yes, I realize that, not all of the POSKY aircraft work with FSX. I just need help if an aircraft that I downloaded from POSKY doesn't work in FSX, what I need to tweak to get everything to work.
Image
Professional Banner Courtesy Of Fraser Jeffery
Flying Is Life.

User avatar
Dennis
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2861
Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 16:40
Location: Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by Dennis » 21 Jul 2009, 01:09

Usually, FS8 planes will not work with FSX. Unless stated otherwise, all FS9 aircraft are compatible with FSX. Just follow the procedure stated on the manual. If you'd like more help (as to helping you out step by step) because you don't understand the tutorial, just say so.
Image
^^Courtesy of Fraser Jeffery. To SimAirline.net. It's been a blast!^^
*Click on the banner for the latest on Viewpoint, the official SimAirline.net blog*

Jacob Mobley
Pilot
Posts: 150
Joined: 11 May 2009, 00:07

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by Jacob Mobley » 21 Jul 2009, 02:48

Ok if they all work with FSX, why dosn't the POSKY Northwest 757-300 work?
Image
Professional Banner Courtesy Of Fraser Jeffery
Flying Is Life.

RatherBFlyin
Moderator
Posts: 3086
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 06:52
Location: Apex, NC
Contact:

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by RatherBFlyin » 21 Jul 2009, 03:09

I have the FS9 POSKY 753 up and running in FSX with NWA's new colors. Do you know where you are running into trouble with it?

Jacob Mobley
Pilot
Posts: 150
Joined: 11 May 2009, 00:07

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by Jacob Mobley » 21 Jul 2009, 03:55

I know how to install it and all, and I also know all of the proper things that you need to install it. Once I downloaded it, I extracted it onto my desktop, and then copy and pasted it into my FSX/SimObjects/Aircraft folder. Once I booted up FSX, it just didn't appear. I don't know why, but I'll try redownloading it and try to install it again.
Image
Professional Banner Courtesy Of Fraser Jeffery
Flying Is Life.

User avatar
Dennis
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2861
Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 16:40
Location: Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by Dennis » 21 Jul 2009, 16:26

Jacob Mobley wrote:I know how to install it and all, and I also know all of the proper things that you need to install it. Once I downloaded it, I extracted it onto my desktop, and then copy and pasted it into my FSX/SimObjects/Aircraft folder. Once I booted up FSX, it just didn't appear. I don't know why, but I'll try redownloading it and try to install it again.
You haven't read the tutorial then because there's an underlined part which states what you must do in order to make the aircraft visible in FSX. Do the following after downloading and installing it on the correct folder:
1. Open the panel folder. Inside you should see a panel cfg file.
2. Open the panel cfg file using Word.
3. You should see something that says:
[fltsim]
alias=B737_400\panel (or maybe B777_300/panel).

Change that to:

[fltsim]
alias=B737_800\panel (Notice that the only big change is the series from -400 to -800 which is the one that FSX has by default).

4. Save it and boot up FSX. You should be able to see the aircraft now.
Image
^^Courtesy of Fraser Jeffery. To SimAirline.net. It's been a blast!^^
*Click on the banner for the latest on Viewpoint, the official SimAirline.net blog*

RatherBFlyin
Moderator
Posts: 3086
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 06:52
Location: Apex, NC
Contact:

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by RatherBFlyin » 21 Jul 2009, 18:21

Do what Dennis, said, but you need to remember that you need to do the same with the sound.cfg file too.

Jacob Mobley
Pilot
Posts: 150
Joined: 11 May 2009, 00:07

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by Jacob Mobley » 22 Jul 2009, 00:24

Ok, so I'v gotta change 2 words in order to make that 757-300 work?
Image
Professional Banner Courtesy Of Fraser Jeffery
Flying Is Life.

User avatar
Dennis
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2861
Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 16:40
Location: Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by Dennis » 22 Jul 2009, 01:04

Jacob Mobley wrote:Ok, so I'v gotta change 2 words in order to make that 757-300 work?
Just one number (the 4 to an 8 ), unless you'd prefer the Airbus panel.
Image
^^Courtesy of Fraser Jeffery. To SimAirline.net. It's been a blast!^^
*Click on the banner for the latest on Viewpoint, the official SimAirline.net blog*

Jacob Mobley
Pilot
Posts: 150
Joined: 11 May 2009, 00:07

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by Jacob Mobley » 22 Jul 2009, 01:26

All Right! Thanks Dennis. I'v got a problem for not reading things and going straight to people for my answers :P.
Image
Professional Banner Courtesy Of Fraser Jeffery
Flying Is Life.

FJ flyer
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2415
Joined: 05 Feb 2007, 23:44
Location: Christchurch New Zealand

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by FJ flyer » 22 Jul 2009, 07:16

Jacob Mobley wrote:All Right! Thanks Dennis. I'v got a problem for not reading things and going straight to people for my answers :P.
Maybe you should considering doing so in the future, so we don't have to waste time explaining everything when you could've just read the tutorial (sorry if this sounds harsh).

Remember, some components of FS9-built models won't work in FSX because MS is crap and they totally screwed when designing FSX which doesn't make it fully compatible with other Flight Sims.
Image
Enigma Simulations | Texture Artist and Aircraft Designer
Click my banner to see my paints via Avsim.

User avatar
Dennis
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2861
Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 16:40
Location: Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Is there anyone who knows how to convert FS2004 A/C to FSX?

Post by Dennis » 22 Jul 2009, 13:07

I think what Fraser meant is that you should've read the tutorial first before you came to ask about the procedure. Even though we're here to help that does not exempt pilots from doing research first. Regardless of all that, I'm glad you managed to get your aircraft running. And now, quoting a famous person here:
Don't crash :P


:lol: It's all good.
Image
^^Courtesy of Fraser Jeffery. To SimAirline.net. It's been a blast!^^
*Click on the banner for the latest on Viewpoint, the official SimAirline.net blog*

Post Reply